Search Districts Within

Hamirpur District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

The Hamirpur district is located in the south western part of Himachal Pradesh. It is covered by lower Himalayas, the elevation varies from the 400 meters to 1,100 meters. The main hill ranges of the district are known as Jakh Dhar & Sola Singhi Dhar. The district is bounded in the north by river Beas which separates it from Kangra district. In the east Bakar and Seer Khads separate it from Mandi district. In the south, It is bounded by Bilaspur district and in the west by Una district. Administratively, the district is divided into five Sub-Divisions viz. Hamirpur, Barsar, Nadaun, Bhoranj and Sujanpur. The district has six Tehsils viz. Hamirpur, Barsar, Nadaun, Bhoranj, Sujanpur and Bamson at TauniDevi. The district comprises of six Development Blocks viz. Hamirpur, Nadaun, Bhoranj, Sujanpur, Bamson and Bijhari. Hamirpur town is the Headquarter of this District, which lies on Shimla Dharamshala road. The places of tourist interests in the district are Sujanpur Tira, Nadaun, Deotsidh Temple, Markanda, Bhota, Narvdeshwar Temple, Bil-kaleshwar Temple, Murli Manohar Mandir, Tauni-Devi Temple, Baba Balak Nath, Awah-Devi Temple, Gasota Mahadev Temple, Kalanjari Devi, Gurudwara sahib Nadaun, and Peer- Saheb Grave.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last update : May 11 2017