Search Districts Within

Birbhum District : West Bengal

About District

Birbhum is the northernmost District of the Burdwan Division. It lies between 23° 32' 30" and 24° 35' 0" north latitude and 88° 1' 40" and 87° 5' 25" east longitude. Birbhum is bounded on the north and west by Santhal Paraganas, on the east by the districts of Murshidabad and Burdwan and on the south by Burdwan, from which it is separated by the Ajay river. The district extends over an area of 4545 Sq. Kms. The district is divided into 3 Subdivisions and 19 Blocks. The district is well drained by a number of rivers and rivulets running in nearly every case from west to east with a slight southerly inclination. Only two are rivers of any magnitude , viz., the Mor and the Ajay. The places of tourist interests in the districts are Bolpur - Sriniketan, Tarapith, Bakreswar, Kankalitala, Labpur, Nanoor, Joydev-Kenduli, Dubrajpur, Nalhati, Patharchapuri, Rajnagar, Hetampur and Kaleswar Shiv Mandir.

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017