Search Districts Within

Purba Medinipur (East Medinipur) District : West Bengal

About District

Purba Medinipur district with its headquarter at Tamluk was carved out of erstwhile district of Midnapore on 1st January 2002 under Burdwan Division. It is located in the southern part of West Bengal surrounded by Rupnarayan & Hooghly rivers in the East, Paschim Medinipur district in the West and North and Bay of Bengal in the South. Total area is 4151.64 predominantly under agriculture and partly under industries. It has four Sub-divisions namely Tamluk, Haldia, Contai and Egra, 25 Developmental Blocks and 5 Municipalities. After the delimitation, Purba Medinipur has two Parliamentary Constituencies and sixteen Assembly Constitutencies. The places of tourist interests in the districts are Devi Barghobhima temple, Tamluk Rajbari, Archeological Museum in Tamluk, Rakhit bati, Matangani Sahid Smarak, Maahishadal and Geonkhali, Kolaghat, Digha's Beach, Mandarmani beach resort and Haldia.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017